Guam gum is derived from the wildcrafted plant Cyamopsis tetragonolobus which is native to India and Pakistan. Normally classified as a type of herb, it is actually part of the pulse family of legumes. Other common pulses are lentils and peas. Guar gum is mainly used in the food industry as an emulsifier and thickening agent but it is sometimes used in the body care industry with the same purpose. The unique attribute of guar gum is that it doesn't need to be heated in order to thicken. Unlike flour or cornstarch, it is highly soluble in unheated water. It is a off-white, fine powder which blends easily into your recipes. It is a very popular ingredient in ice cream as well as in gluten-free foods.
Guar gum powder is primarily from the ground endosperm of guar beans (seeds). These seeds are de-husked, milled and screened to make the fine powder. No additional processing is used.
Common Name: Guar Gum
Botanical Name: Cyamopsis tetragonolobus
Guar gum can be used as a natural thickening agent and emulsifier in creams, lotions and body butters. The amount to use depends on your recipes and how thick you want your final product to be. Also can be used in the culinary world as a gluten-free option to thicken sauces, gravies and dressings.
Shelf Life and Storage
Product shelf life is dependent on storage conditions and is highly variable. Products should be stored under cool, dry conditions and in a humidity controlled environment. Industry standard for product, when stored under optimum conditions, is 12 months from the date of manufacture.
Country of Origin
MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) are available upon request. If you'd like one, please email our sales department here.
This is information is provided for educational purposes only. It has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.